Skip to content

Good Morning

October 11, 2012

It is 7.20am and I am just sitting down to my first cup of coffee. A very much appreciated coffee mind you, as I have so far this morning- milked Lecy , let the chickens out to roam, collected the dirty washing and put a load on the wash, put dessert cooking in the slow cooker. And since I still have an hour before I need to start cooking breakfast for when Rick gets home from night shift I am taking a few minutes to reflect on the day, God and what he would have me do today. I also thought it would be  a good importunity to catch everyone up on what has been going on in the Butlers Good Life.

I really enjoy the early morning when no one else is awake and the world seems so quiet and peaceful. I can reflect on Gods handiwork and just enjoy his creation. It is interesting to watch the sun really come up and the world begin another day. A tinge of sadness is also there as God says in his word that “Turn to me and be saved, all the ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other.” Isaiah 45:22. John 3:16 16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  Yet there are so many that will be lost because they do not accept that Jesus died for them.

Yesterday was rather exciting, Rick and I and a reluctant Meg went to look at some goats and a few possibilities for a new goat for our family. Meet some lovely goats and their people. Since it is kidding season I could of just stood there all day watching the kids play, talk and bounce around. Made me a bit sad that I don’t have the boys anymore but hopefully we shall have a goat in kid very shortly, we are looking at a couple of possible lovely girls.

Johanna is still up in Auckland where she went to spend the holidays with the Wards, helping take care of their baby son and also helping at the church holiday program. She seems to be really enjoying her time up there, but it will be nice to go pick her up from the airport in the morning.

We are planning on going up with a friend to pick her up and then going on in to Dunedin to do a bit of looking around and to buy a few things that we are unable to get locally, or make ourselves.

I have made my first lot of cheese with the goats milk, and it is lovely. Rick has been taking some to work and it has been  very well appreciated. And he took two big pieces last night so I think that it is a good reflection on how good our girls milk is. Lecy is doing rather well. Milking about 5 kg of milk a day. That is why I have made creamed rice for pudding and still have about 8 or 9 litres left to make cheese , yogurt , ice-cream and have lovely cold glasses of milk.

Well I hope that God blesses your day as he does ours. I have to go feed the rabbits and see if my lovely chookys have given me any eggs for breakfast. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    October 12, 2012 2:00 am

    Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

