Skip to content

In My Kitchen July.

July 9, 2015

July already , June just seems to have slipped by unnoticed and suddenly we are in the second half of the year.

Winter in the Homestead kitchen is a bit slower and more relaxed with lots of soup and bread. The preserves are in the pantry and there is some cheese in the fridge and not a lot growing in the vegetable garden so there is  time to relax a bit and keep warm till the spring rolls round again. Time to recharge the batteries ready for when the garden bursts to live and the farm bursts to life.

In my kitchen at the moment are as I said lots of soup, this one was a spicy lentil one from Arabia, I am enjoying trying soups from a wide range of countries.

IMG_20150629_124408

As usual there is bottles of bubbling beverages in our home. And to take the guess work out of identifying which type it is I diligently label them.
On a day trip away I found this little string holder to make labelling just that bit easier and it’s so cute to boot.
image

On that same trip to a little historic village I manage to pick up a bag of new season walnuts. I have visions of chocolate banana loaf in our homestead future. With lashings of chocolate icing.
image

On a recent trip to a farmers market we picked up this lovely little bottle of coffee liquor , organic coffee with cinnamon. Such a treat on a rainy cold winters evening.
image

Hope your all keeping warm in this wintery weather. If you lucky enough to be in the warmth of summer, enjoy.
Thanks to Celia at  Fig jam and Lime Cordial. . Check out Celia’s fabulous blog and all the great blogs that contribute to the monthly In My Kitchen.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2015 12:11 pm

    It’s going to be very cold this weekend so Spicy Lentil Soup sounds like the go! On defrosted some haloumi out the freezer last weekend and realised, when defrosted, it was actually cubes of mango yoghurt for a smoothie. I am normally so good in labelling but this one caught me out!

    Thanks for the tour

  2. July 10, 2015 4:33 pm

    Your soup looks delicious and would be perfect on this cold, wintry day!
    Hubby is a barista, so would love to check out that coffee liquor too!
    Thanks for this month’s kitchen view!

    • July 11, 2015 8:15 pm

      Joanne, the liquor is amazing. We picked it up from the Dunedin farmers market. And will definitely be getting more next time we are there.

  3. July 10, 2015 6:40 pm

    i love the label on that coffee liqueur bottle. so cute. yes always nice to have warming soup on a cold night. what are you fermenting in your bottles?

  4. July 10, 2015 9:17 pm

    Sandy, I too am loving the current crop of fresh walnuts. Thanks for the peek into your NZ kitchen! cheers, Kirsty

    • July 13, 2015 9:29 am

      Thanks for visiting Kirsty. I really enjoy looking at all the kitchens around the world and seeing what people have been up to. Those sugars from around the world look interesting. Sandy

  5. July 13, 2015 12:45 am

    Hello Sandy…I would like to email you the chocolate and walnut slice recipe that I recently featured on my blog but I cant find your email address on your blog. My email is janesmith7706(at)hotmail(dot)com. Perhaps you could contact me? Thank you! Jane

  6. July 19, 2015 7:08 am

    oh yum, I never get tired of soup, it really is an underrated dish! Such a good IMK this month

Leave a Reply

